Forums Gaming Chat Roleplaying [D&D and its cousins] Commune & Contact Other Plane

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Pencil-Monkey 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hafwit 2.0
    • Orc

What is you experiences with using or GM’ing the use of these spells? What was fun? What was cumbersome? 

Commune: Do you get to talk to an actual god of just a functionary? How much useful info can you get from a god anyway?

Contact Other Plane: Who or what answered? 

DSblacklight.jpg

Pencil-Monkey
    • Mind Flayer

There’s a good discussion about Contact Other Plane on the Pathfinder subreddit, which even includes a detailed set of calculations on how to minimize the risk of having your brain reduced to mush by the spell.
    Also, this anecdote:

Honestly it’s a trap spell if I’ve ever seen one. Also highly dependent on your GM to many reasons to not use it imho.

I do have an example though. Back when I was a nooby noob I used this spell asking about a thief who had been terrorizing the country side and the only answer I got was “Behind” for everything.

I turned around to see a literal shadow stealing something from one of our bags. And that’s how we found out the BBEG was a summoner with access to some crazy item that let him make several much weaker eidolons and he has done literal shadows to steal stuff

• This reply was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by  Pencil-Monkey.

Hal
    Admin
    • Treant

I have to say that in my experience running and playing games I have only seen these kinds of things used a few times and most of the time it was plot driven. Either an NPC or enemy cast the spell or there was a scroll or ritual involved.

I guess it may just be the flavor of game I end up playing and running but most players I have ever run for do not really choose to go around casting these kinds of things.

They are all very much story spells in my mind. Not to be cast every day.

Cheers