Forums Archive Roleplaying Chatter D20 DMs Guide 2?!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Demonix
    • Orc
    Cob37
    • Gelatinous Cube

I am so glad I don’t need to spend any more money. If I was playing 3E, my OCD would force me into bankruptcy. 😈

Long Live 2E!

HisDivineShadow
    • Orc

Ew, 2nd Ed. I used to play that. In fact, when I started playing 2nd ed wasn’t even out. So I’ve played 1st Ed, 2nd Ed and 3.5 Ed. I missed out 3rd ED. 🙂

3.5 Ed is a major improvment but yeah, it costs doesn’t it? 😉

BTW, DMGII is not a core book – you don’t need it. In fact, you don’t need to buy ANY 3rd ed stuff, since the core rules are free!

Demonix
    • Orc

Free? 😯 Where from?

HisDivineShadow
    • Orc

By “Core Rules” I mean the D20 “System Reference Document” (SRD).

It’s on the Wizard’s web site, or see for example:

http://www.systemreferencedocuments.org … /home.html

Kevin
    • Orc

Well, I feel I could have put my money to better use…

Shug
    • Orc

Not playing/DM these days, but I have the 3e core books, and sat in on a couple 3e sessions… and I used to DM 2e for a quite few years…

…and I really don’t like the what I’ve seen of the d20 system. From what I’ve seen, DMing is a lot easier and smoother, admittedly – leaving more time for non-technical gameplay… but it seems like something is missing. It’s like Dungeons & Dragons – Fisher Price Edition.

We were tactical players/DMs though, and only role-players in the strictest sense of the word.

Pigeon
    • Commoner

We started playing a lot more tactically ever since 3rd edition, probabbly because we started using minatures and the whole “attack of opportunity” thing. Haven’t got 3.5 yet, but again it looks like an improvement (if only it didn’t cost so much cash!)

(edited due to stupidity)

Slacker
    • Flumph