Forums Archive Roleplaying Chatter General RPG Stuff Firefox Support

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    tomlib
    • Orc

Not that anyone remembers but I was having trouble with Firefox users who could not view my web page properly.

After exausting work I think I’ve discovered all of my errors and am in the process of fixing things. It requires a rather lot of recoding using non-microsoft javascript. It was something I probably should have learned to begin with but I am rather self taught in all of this.

Hopefully I’ll have it fixed by the end of the weekend when I will have Annotated Notes for WLD #20 and #21!

For those of you with a coding eye here are the main problems.

1. The img attribute “alt” is “title” in firefox (properly).

2. The onmouseover=”style.cursor= value is “pointer” and not “hand”

And the Biggie

3. The document.all code is not used at all in firefox (because it is a MS invention) but instead uses document.getElementById. This was the one causing most of the problems.

If you Firefoxers want to visit my website http://www.andyliss.us you will now be able to look at the Galleries and view pictures of my friends and I but that is the only part fully updated at this time.

I’m sure not too many folks are interested in this but I know Firefox is a great browser and I wanted to get it right for everyone. Also, no fear, it also still works in IE.

Tom

ENoa4
    • Gelatinous Cube

Hey TomLib,

I work in IT, and have my office running Firefox exclusively due to security concerns with IE. I do a lot of web development work too and have run into many little issues, paricularly when working with asp.net. Overall it’s worked great. I have found that the each upgrade Firefox has made over the past few months have eliminated some issues. The browser is great and improving fast.

Great web site by the way. You’ve got a considerable amount of content out there, and some audio too. I’ll try and give that a listen.

Enoa4

tomlib