Forums Archive RPGMP3 Chatter World’s Largest Dungeon Throwing a bone to the halfling: About small weapons

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    mchvlichldprdgy
    • Owlbear

I’m new to the rpgmp3 scene, and as such have only listened to the first six sessions, so this may have been resolved already, but the shortsword IS a small weapon, and as such, the short sword you found should do 1d6+1+str in anyones hands, and could be used one handed by all small and larger creatures.

http://www.opensourcegaming.org/srd/SRDEquipmentI.rtf[/url]

riddles
    • Succubus

If Faylin uses the weapon 2-handed, she uses it as a medium creature (1d6), otherwise she uses it as a small creature (1d4).

The d4 rather than d6 is a meaure of the size of the character as well as the size of the weapon.

Otherwise this rule applies

Quote:

A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative -2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn’t proficient with the weapon a -4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

SteveB
    • Orc

Er, not sure, but I believe that although a short sword is a light weapon, as standard it is a medium sized light weapon. And so, as Riddles posted, Feylin would have to use it in two hands, and thus be dealing 1d6 damage. However, as it was discovered as a small sized version, it only does 1d4 damage, and can be used by Feylin in one hand. Used by anybody else, they would take the non-profociency penalty described by Riddles, above, unless the GM ruled it was sufficiently like a dagger to be used as such.

Ref: Player’s Handbook v3.5 pp 113-116

Salubrai
    • Succubus
    mchvlichldprdgy wrote: